The ONLY portable Moodle solution?

The ONLY portable Moodle solution?

That’s a bit of a bold statement isn’t it? Especially when a quick google turns up Poodle and other portable Moodles including one from Moodle.org Well…yes… but assuming you’re after a portable solution, you’d really want to be using one of the more current releases. With most of the offerings across the internet being 1.9, including Moodle.org’s, that’s a non-starter; you really want something from the current 2.x offering and that pretty much leaves Poodle from MAFLT which is a well thought out product with plenty of support and even a forum…..but…. oh look…. the last post in the forum is 2 years old and anyway, the download is for Moodle 2.1… and it’s a beta version.

Where I work I can’t install software on my PC and anyway I have to hotdesk so even if I did go to the trouble of getting tech services to install moodle on all the PCs I work on, that’s different Moodles in different places and no continuity. Obviously I could just download Moodle.org’s XAMPP locally installed Moodle which you can make portable by cracking open notepad every time you move it but that’s no good for a teacher or other client to whom I’ve given a copy via a USB drive or file delivery service.

But then again, I see Moodle.orgs XAMPP package has recently started using xampp portable…that should do the job and make my portable solution redundant. But wait… I couldn’t get it to work on XP or Win7. Possibly because of this problem from May 2014 that remains unresolved.

So here it is: Portable Moodle 2.8.1. I didn’t develop this myself, I don’t have the skill set to do that but I am actively maintaining it and supporting it within my limited technical capabilities.

dog tired
Moodle running like a dog
So I’ll stand by my claim that this is the ONLY portable Moodle solution. Certainly the only current, supported, working out of the box one.

Do feel free to prove me wrong. I’d love someone to produce something I can download that just works.


The software that underpins it was written when Moodle 2.1 came out, which is a much lighter proposition than 2.8 is. If you try to use this off a USB drive it will run like a dog, I’d advise putting it on your desktop.

Unzip to your desktop. Double click on mowes.exe
Type: localhost/moodle in your browser address bar
(prefix a http:// if that doesn’t work)
Your username is admin
Your password is password

Provided as is, the usual disclaimers apply. You know, the ones where I absolve myself from any responsibility, promise not to sell your information unless someone offers me a lot of money and I can get away with it and your children and children’s children are bound into servitude to me and corporate entities representing my interests.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment